A man of the arts

I’ve really been arting it up in NYC.  In London, I grew a passion for the fine arts when I saw a few plays, operas, ballets and best of all attended the Shakepeare’s Globe with my buddies.  Without really realising it, I’ve already pursued a lot of it here in NYC too.

When Kay and Oak visited a week ago, we visited the Museum of Modern Art and the Guggenheim Museum.  They had some waffly crap but also some really fascinating pieces.  I particularly liked Cindy Sherman and Francesca Woodman.  I also immediately spotted a sculpture by Jacob Epstein, who I like and who’s work Cheryl introduced me to at the Tate Britain, back in London.

Kay and I saw the Metropolitan Opera performing L’elisir D’amour.  It was completely in Italian and I love the classical-style romantic comedies like this.

I just watched Sylvie Guillem and a few other dancers at the Lincoln Center.  It was amazing.  They were ballet dancers but not not doing traditional ballet moves or wearing tutus.  Rather, they did some amazingly expressive and emotive pieces of contemporary dance.  I was blown away by how artistic it all was.  Rather than watching a traditional ballet where they’re telling a story, this felt more like viewing a really impressive piece of artwork, where I just wasn’t quite sure what I was seeing and what it all meant.  Their bodies were the artwork.  I’m always blown away by how much ballet dancers have a mastery over their bodies.

This is what I just watched http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C4dwp9cXjUY&feature=player_detailpage#t=55s

The last time I was this stunned was when I watched Pina in 3D at the Barbican http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CNuQVS7q7-A

Comments
2 Responses to “A man of the arts”
  1. Scott Ramsay says:

    Awesome blog dude. 10 out of 10 for holding my interest and making me laugh. Keep em coming.

  2. K says:

    I had such fun doing arty stuff with you in NYC!! :D

Leave a Reply

