NYC is BIG

I’m in NYC now and the locals are always telling me how much they love it.  I’m resistant because I so adored London.  It’s going to take me a while before I allow myself to feel like one of these Americans.  Everything here is big: the skyscrapers, the cars, the food, the drinks, the people, the volume, the assertiveness.  Many things are open 24-hrs here.  It’s nearly impossible to find supermarket ready-meals so everybody eats out unless they’re cooking at home (which is not my style).  Unlike most of America, NYC is famous for thin pizzas, which I was well-chuffed with because I had grown to love the thin and bare Italian-style pizzas in Europe.

For the 1st 2 weeks here I stayed with a couple in the Lower East Side who’s housemate was on holidays.  I found them on Craigslist!  We did a Skype call before I left London, just to establish that I wasn’t a weirdo.  They were so welcoming and helpful and we hung out a few times.  I really love their neighbourhood too because it has so many cool bars, restaurants and shops.  I liked: Welcome to the Johnsons, Motor City Bar, Economy Candy, Doughnut Plant, Champion Pizza, Katz’s Delicatessen (from Where Harry Met Sally).

I spent these 1st 2 weeks in NYC sightseeing and looking for a more permanenent flat (although the word flat confuses the locals so I must remember to say apartment).  Now I have a flat in Chinatown, which is nice and central.  The flat has 7 people, 2 showers and 1 kitchen, which sounds crazy but seems to work.  The flatmates seem to rarely ever talk to each other, which is weird for me.

You know you’re in New York when…
– You have pizza for brunch 7 days in a row and the only person who thinks you’re weird is the Australian man in the mirror.

An American actually said this to me…
– What are the camels with one hump called, dingoes?

If I could travel 3 weeks back in time, I would say to myself…
– Why the heck are you ironing all those shirts before putting them in the suitcase?

If I could travel 4 weeks back in time, I would say to myself…
– Dude, get real.  You’re never going to fit your life into 1 suitcase.  2 isn’t even enough.  Start finding alternative homes for all your crap now.

Comments
3 Responses to “NYC is BIG”
  1. sherine says:

    What are the camels with one hump called, dingoes? — WTF?!? And also good call on Katz – I <3 their pastrami on rye and the matzo ball soup..hmmm……:)

  2. Gabe says:

    The pints aren’t big…

Leave a Reply

