Call me Scream Puff

In keeping with my desire to see and try new things, I went to a roller derby game on Saturday night.  I enjoyed it immensely.  It’s sort of like rugby on skates.  Each team has 4 tough girls and 1 quick girl on track, and basically the quick one has to whizz arond and try to get through the pack to earn points.  There was a movie about it called Whip It with Drew Barrymore, Ellen Page and Kristen Wiig, if you want to check it out.  It’s an amateur sport, run solely by volunteers, but the whole event had such a high production quality that it felt like a prime time sport.  New York City won the nationals last year, so I’m in the right place for some high-quality girl-on-girl action.

The girls themselves like to embrace a sassy/tough/sexy persona, and it really feels like a celebration of femininity and athleticism.  Their skater names are usually puns combining aggression and cuteness like Legs Benedict, Shenita Stretcher, Beyonslay, Smashlee Simpson, Davee Blockit, Anne Phetamean, Care Bear Scare, Pushy Galore.  Clever huh?  My mind went crazy inventing names while I was watching it, and indeed a popular question among blokes seems to be “what would your derby name be?”  I think I’d be Scream Puff.

Outsiders can misinterpret the fishnet stockings and skirts as an excuse for guys to gawk at uncooth vixens, but I didn’t get that impression at all.  It was a fun, family event, and the girls are proper athletes.  The fishnets and sass provide a theme but it’s a serious, full-contact sport.  Unlike male contact sports, these girls don’t even use shoulder pads; that’s just how they roll.

Whip It – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUGz9wflhAc
This is Derby doco – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ODUwoJIyqok

Comments
7 Responses to “Call me Scream Puff”
  1. sherine says:

    awesome – was it only early this year when we watched Whip It ?:) loving reading all about the new experiences and making me want to go out and explore london more too!

  2. Gabe says:

    Don’t worry Nato, we still love you!

  3. Gabe says:

    Also, I may know (loosely and with some bad feelings most likely) someone on the team you saw, judging by the colours. That makes me feel somewhat embarassed.

  4. Bianca says:

    THAT SOUNDS AWESOME!!!!! I REALLY WANT TO GO TO ONE!!! hahahaha scream puff……..

Leave a Reply

