Nosferatu reinvigorated

When I was a teen, I saw Nosferatu (1922 b&w silent film) and hated it. I think I’d just seen Bram Stoker’s Dracula and it paled in comparison. That was a long time ago and prior to my being reintroduced to silent films at the Prince Charles Cinema by Luke (Boris Bike novice and silent film aficionado).

I watched it last night with a friend at the Cathedral of St John the Divine and the whole experience was quite divine, really. The cathedral was hugely atmospheric, with it’s sky-reaching arches and walls lit up in red. There was a massive pipe organ that was played skillfully throughout the film. Indeed, this was how Nosferatu was meant to be watched. It also helped that I had read Bram Stoker’s fantastic book 2 years ago, so I was able to fill in the bits that the film made unclear. I just have to say that Max Schreck is one ugly dude.

After the movie, The Grand Procession of the Ghouls began, which involved a host of extremely well-costumed fiends roaming up and down the church to enthrall and frighten us. The costumes and puppeteering were worthy of Jim Henson, and indeed some of the characters reminded me of The Dark Crystal and Labyrinth.

I know that some Christians are very against halloween and such “evil” themes, so props for the church for inviting the community in and allowing this spectacle. Props to Jules and friends for letting me tag along, too.

Comments
4 Responses to “Nosferatu reinvigorated”
  1. Christene Pye says:

    Nathan, You are so lucky to have all this experience.
    looking forward to seeing you at Christmas
    Christene

  2. Nathan, I’m proud of you!

  3. kdisleaze says:

    What a fantastic film event, I love things like that, so special! Loving the musical accompaniment on this post as well! :P

  4. Adria Selin says:

    Hey there! I simply would like to offer you a big thumbs up for the great information you have got right here on this post. I’ll be returning to your blog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

