Blighty Surprise

Blighty Surprise

Ever since I knew I’d be in France for Christmas, I’d been planning how to make a surprise visit to see my London gaming friends. As fortune would have it, most of them were spending New Years together in an English farmhouse, which posed a perfect opportunity for my scheme. I took the ferry over, stopped in for a quick dinner with my brother on the outskirts of London, then drove up to my friends’ cottage in Norfolk. As far as anyone knew, I was still in New England, not the original one.

When I walked in the door, I was both pleased and impressed. Pleased with the stunned face of Jeff, who was speechless for about 3 minutes. Impressed with Lloyd, who managed to remain as nonchalant as a cat as though he was expecting me. We ate home-cooked food, talked smack and played a lot of games. I barely won a game for the whole 2 days so I’m going to have to count my cunning surprise as my big, important win.

Catching a ferry to the UK … €60.
Buying a street map when lost around London … £7.
Spending 2 days in an old farmhouse with my old pals, the same old beer and the same old games that I love … priceless.

Comments
2 Responses to “Blighty Surprise”
  1. sherine says:

    Nato – was sooooo fantastic to spend NYE with you:) massive surprise to see you – quite hilarious to see how quickly things descend to general abuse and smack talking:)

  2. kdisleaze says:

    Wish I could have been there, but I was having a hot Christmas in South Africa, like your hot one last year in Australia!!! Can’t wait to come back out to NYC Nato! :)

Leave a Reply

