Notes from the BSO

I’m not much of a classical music fan but I figured that I should check out the Boston Symphony Orchestra while I was in their home, given that’s it’s one of the best regarded orchestras in the world and one of the US’s “big five”. The programme had 3 pieces: William Vaughan’s Symphony #6 in E minor, Sergei Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto #2, and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espagnol. I found it hard to tell whether an absence of music denoted the end of a movement or the end of a whole piece, so I held my applause until others clapped, so as not to make an ass. I also found it hard to make sense of the lightning-fast changes between slow parts dominated by strings and then frenetic parts dominated by wind and percussion. That was Vaughan. I guess I prefer my classical music to be a little more classical.

My favourite part was actually looking around the Boston Symphony Hall. It was really quite majestic and reminiscent of some of the grand, romantic theatres I saw around Europe. The classical era statues really did it for me. In fact, Boston as a whole has reminded me more of Britain than anywhere else I’ve seen in the USA thus far – like a little bastion of old glory in the new world.

You know you’re in Boston when…
– The buildings look English, the rain feels Irish, the people sound American but nobody is fat and every local goes for a run by the river at some point during an average weekend.

Comments
One Response to “Notes from the BSO”
  1. kdisleaze says:

    Fantastic! I love going to classical concerts, the venues are always so gorgeous! Remember whn we went to the Met Opera? :)

Leave a Reply

