The Maven

It’s been almost exactly a year since I last saw a NYC roller derby and it was so good to be back in my local hood, watching my local death wheelers. The bout was just as fierce as I remembered, and the derby virgins that I brought with me were over the moon about the experience. They discovered and loved all the things that I’d noticed at the start – the empowerment, the equality, the athleticism and the high spirits.

Most impressive for me was the ever-speedy Miss Tea Maven. I knew her and her hubbie from the days when I had enough time to travel out and watch bouts in Long Island, back in 2012. Last year, she was talented enough to roll herself into the big city and join the Brooklyn Bombshells. A whole year later, she’s become one of the fastest and toughest jammers on the track and they’ve even put her into the Gotham Girls All Stars. This is Gotham’s A-Team, which has won the world championships for the last 3 years in a row. It’s quite impressive that Miss Tea Maven reached the A-Team in only her 2nd year of skating for Gotham. Long Island gets a bad rap but, the way I see it, there’s now 2 great kinds of Tea that have come from there.

Maven’s profile – http://www.gothamgirlsrollerderby.com/players/miss-tea-maven

Leave a Reply

