A landmark theatre

I went with a friend to watch Terry Gilliam’s Brazil at the Landmark Loew’s Jersey Theatre. The movie’s plot was incoherent but this was made up for by the ancient opulence of the theatre which thoroughly astounded me. It looked like the kind of fancy venue that would hold ballets and operas, not plain old movies. It’s not like this was converted from an opera either; it’s always been a cinema. It seems like this was normal for Loew’s cinemas, back in the day. I hadn’t seen anything like this, in all my time in Australia and Europe, so I was quite taken aback. I guess this was from the golden age of cinema where watching a movie was a decadent occasion.

There’s an abandoned one near me in Chinatown too, and the photos of it look equally amazing – http://gothamist.com/2014/06/27/photos_breaking_in_to_the_old_loews.php#photo-1

Leave a Reply

