Sprinting for suds

The gun sounded and we were off running.  I’d already placed myself at the very front to avoid the inevitable mob of penguins, but staying there once the race started proved a bit beyond me.  As I quickly ran out of breath and slowed my pace, I started counting the people ahead of me: 19, 20, 21.  This trend followed over the rest of the whole 5 kms race until, near the finish line, I heard a loud panter breathing down my neck so I put on a last minute surge and got away from him.  Our placings didn’t really matter, though, because this run was really just a warmup for the main event.

If we’re honest, we were really here for beer.  This was the 5k + Brewhop beer festival in Randall’s Island, NYC, where, for no apparent reason, the disparate enterprises of beer and running were interwoven like yin and yang.  This conjoining of both burning and consuming calories probably sounded like a good idea, but the marriage of 2 savagely dehydrating activities wasn’t.  I spent the first 30 minutes guzzling 2 or 3 Litres, to prepare myself, but then I had no room for beer.  Woe of woes!

The weirdest thing I tried was Spiked Seltzer.  The best thing was Crabbie’s Ginger Beer.  Yeah, neither of them are beer, but I’m always looking for something new.  Most of it was from the NYC area and I got my fair share of the goodies before they ran out.  But I ran first so I deserved it.

And yeah … I’m into fitness … fitness whole pizza in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

