Round and round the bar we go

On my last night in New Orleans, recently, I heard about the Carousel Bar, which of course I had to try.  There were no zebras or pink elephants on this carousel, just a round bar with a wooden bartop and stools which revolved slowly around the 2 barmen in the center.  I waltzed over, took a seat and watched as the nearest barman slowly moved away from me, or rather, I from him.  He came and took my order but by the time he turned around to hand it to me, I’d gone.  Fortunately, I was only 60 degrees away so a few more steps and the drink was in my hand.  And there I sat for an hour, listening to jazz and watching the world go by, or rather, the room.

Carousel Bar – http://hotelmonteleone.com/entertainment/carousel-bar/

Leave a Reply

