Brooklyn’s floribundas

Now that I’m a Brooklynite, I’m starting to check out what this new borough has to offer, apart from moustache wax and wide-brimmed hats.

I took my first ever jaunt to the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens near Prospect Park.  Flowers aren’t normally my thing but it was pretty darn pleasant.  The place was divided up into a bunch of separate, small gardens with special themes like:
– The Shakespeare Garden, which features flowers from his plays and small plaques with a relevant verse or 2.
– The blind garden, for particularly smelly flowers without thorns, so that they can be safely fondled by grabby blind people.
– The herb garden, because sometimes eating them at home just isn’t enough.

Now that I’m nearby, walking past the BBG in summer smells great.  I think it’s the roses.  But they’d smell just as sweet by any other name.

Quite photogenic – http://www.gettyimages.com/photos/brooklyn-botanic-garden

Comments
2 Responses to “Brooklyn’s floribundas”
  1. kdisleaze says:

    Oooh sounds brilliant, I never went there when I lived in Brooklyn that summer – I felt about plants then as you do now! ;)

Leave a Reply

